Billing and monitoring plans
When a creator account is connected to InsighIQ, we offer two plans to monitor the data for each data product under that account. But we also understand that to choose a plan, and you would need some data to determine which plan would be suitable for a particular product for a specific account. Let us help you understand what these plans are, how you should choose and how they affect your billing.
Setup at the time of connection
First, when a creator connects an account is connected to InsighIQ, we call it activation.
If you remember, you have to create a token to connect an account, and you need to tell the token which products you want to use for that account. Each product has a separate activation fee. Your activation billing will be based on this information in the token, namely, which products you want to use for this account.
Now, for 24 hours after account connection, we add data to that account for the past 90 days and give you webhook notifications. You can pull this data as many times as required. Before the end of this 24-hour window, called the activation period, we expect you to decide which plan you want to use for each product under that account.
Here is where the two plans come in.
Standard - This is the default plan under which InsighIQ fetches data at regular intervals, usually no older than 24 hours on average, and alerts you via webhooks. It is suitable for use cases where you need regular access to creator data. There is a fixed monthly fee for each product under this plan, and renewals can be canceled at any time.
On-demand - This is the plan where there is a per product refresh fee for updating data under any account, as the creator data in this plan will be refreshed only upon request. It is suitable for sporadic use cases, such as where you want to check the data once a week or just a few times a month. You can select this pay-per-use plan if you don't want regular access to fresh data and want to save those costs.
You might choose to keep all the products of an account on the standard plan (which is the default, so you don't need to do anything) or switch any (or all) of the products under a connected account to on-demand. To make this switch, you need to make an API call. You can read more about the update account API on this link, which is used to switch the plans. If you choose to keep the account on the standard plan, you will be charged the full standard fee for the month regardless of the activation date.
You cannot have a subproduct on the standard plan if the main product is on the on-demand plan.
Possible actions after the activation period
After choosing one of the plans in the activation period, you might want to do several things later.
Switch a product or multiple products from the standard to the on-demand plan
You can switch any product or multiple products from the standard plan to an on-demand plan using the update account API. Your products in that account would still work on the standard plan for the running month (and even the account API would reflect the same), but they would be switched to on-demand on the 1st of next month. You will be charged the full standard fee for the products on the standard plan for the running month.
Think of this as canceling the renewal of the standard plan for the next month.
Switch a product or multiple products from the on-demand to the standard plan
You can switch any product or multiple products from an on-demand plan to the standard plan using the update account API. This change is immediate. You will be charged the full standard fee for the products on the standard plan for the running month and any on-demand data refreshes made in the running month before this switch.
Activate a new product
You might want to activate more products for an already connected and activated account. In this case, you need to get the creator to re-authenticate themselves and grant permissions. You need to create a new SDK token and add the new products while creating the token. This is treated the same way as an activation but only for that product. All the same steps and procedures would be applicable.
For example, You have a creator with a user ID xxxx and an account ID yyyy. Under this account connected at 16:45 on 23-Apr-2026, you already have identity and engagement activated and running on the standard plan. Now at 10:28 on 10-May-2026, you also activate income for the same account. Only the income product would be considered to be in the activation period from 10:28 on 10-May-2026 to 10:27 on 11-May-2026, between which you can decide whether you want to switch to an on-demand plan or continue with the standard plan. After 10:27 on 11-May-2026, the same switching rules apply to all three products.
Check which products and plans are active for an account
You can simply call the retrieve an account API and check the data section. It contains information about each product that is active for an account, and under each product, you will find the monitoring_type parameter that will tell you the product's current plan.
Disconnect an account
You lose access to the account’s data instantly when you or a creator disconnects the account. You will be charged the full standard fee for the products on the standard plan regardless of the disconnection date.
What about
Reconnecting a disconnected account
You cannot "connect" back to an account via APIs - you would need to ask the creator to log in again. We will charge an activation fee for this action according to the chosen products (in the SDK token). After that, the account connection will go through an activation period for the activated products, just as a new account does.
Reconnecting an account with an expired session
This is a special case where the auth tokens have expired at the platform's end. Like a "disconnected" account, you would still need to ask the creator to log in again.
The difference (and this is the good part) is that we don't charge any activation fee if the same products are connected to the same account (also, there is no activation period). If you add any new products to the SDK token when you initiate this login, it will work the same as activating a new product.
Keeping a product or all products of an account infinitely on on-demand
Sure, you can do that! And we won't charge you until you make a data refresh. But be warned that in such cases, there are higher chances of an account's session getting expired since the auth tokens haven't been used for a long while. This token expiry time varies from work platform to work platform, so it's a hit-or-miss. Hence, please remember that your requests might fail due to session expiry if you try refreshing data after an account has been idle for a while.
Migrating your users for this billing - June 2022
All dates and times are in UTC.
This model will come into effect from the July 2022 billing cycle. The invoice that is raised on 1 Aug 2022 will reflect this.
That means we start the billing counter on 1 July 2022. You have until 30 June 2022 to make these changes.
What are the required changes
If you are already integrated with InsighIQ
For all new connections after 1 July 2022, make sure to switch products to the
ON_DEMANDplan if you don't want them to move toSTANDARDby default.For all existing connections, ensure changing active products to
ON_DEMANDbefore 30 June 2022 if you don't want them to be on theSTANDARDplan. All accounts and products not specified to beON_DEMANDfrom 1 July 2022 onwards will be considered onSTANDARD.
If you are currently integrating with InsighIQ or creating a new integration
Read this page from the beginning and build your account connection workflows accordingly to account for these considerations.